I need a health coach!

I have always been very interested in health issues.  I feel that I lead a healthy lifestyle.  Sure, I could stand to lose a few pounds, but on my 5’8″ frame, I am hardly considered overweight.

 

So, when I had my routine annual physical and fasting blood work a month ago, I had few worries.

 

Then, the nurse from the doctor’s office called.  It was a simple enough message; they are happy with my “good cholesterol”, but my “bad cholesterol is a little elevated”.   Ok, I thought to myself…it’s time to take off the extra weight.   But I let the nurse continue with their recommendation.   And this is what she said:  “You know the drill, diet and exercise.  Come back in 3 months for a re-test”.  

 

That’s IT!!    The extent of their advise to me is that I know the drill.   How dare they?   There was NO additional educational information provided to me.   Do you think they could have thrown a few brochures in the mail to me??  How about referring me to a few websites where I could get appropriate information?   No, nothing at all like that.   Simply “you know the drill”.   

Wouldn’t a better outcome have been “Ann, you probably know all the changes that you need to make, but we recommend the services of a trained health coach to help you set and reach goals to target this specific health condition and get it under control”.

The bottom line is that this is a fundamental problem with our health care system.  We don’t focus on prevention and on intervening before a condition worsens.  No, we wait until the patient needs medication and/or more serious treatment.

Leave a Reply

